Online Sermons

As many of you know, we post the weekly sermons online on the church website. Over the years I’ve received some feedback on this, but I would really like to know what you think about this. Do you ever listen to the sermons online? Do you tell your friends about this feature on our website? Would you prefer to see a video of the sermon instead?

Our culture today is media driven. In fact, it’s all around us. The church has to keep up with the culture or we will become irrelevant. These advancements have affected how we view billboards, how we listen to music, and even how we watch movies. I am still amazed that I can listen to a colleague’s sermon on my ipod where the file is right alongside my entire music collection!

Do you think the church is keeping up our media-driven culture? Do you believe we can present the Gospel in a way that can be understood and received by the modern culture?

-Bob

4 Responses

  1. Videos of sermons would be AWESOME. You could post links to them on FB and church members could repost for their friends.

  2. It was stated by a coworker in my office who has not physically attended our church but has listened to your sermons that it would be much better if we did post a video file too or instead of an audio file. She expressed her opinion on this very subject seemingly out of nowhere.

  3. I do listen to online sermon’s occasionally, when I remember to do it. I listen to yours and Chris’. I just have to be more intentional about doing it.

  4. I guess I didn’t answer all the questions. I do believe that the church has definitely become media driven. Some churches have dealt with this effectively, while others still stubbornly cling to the old ways. I believe Jesus had a market-driven theology. I think He would have embraced all the new technology available i.e. internet, blogs, websites, etc. I guess I’ve always had the problem of trying to modernize the church I’m in. EPUMC still is behind the times in many ways although we finally have started recording DVDs of the worship services for listening and we are no WiFi’d. Videos of the sermon would be awesome!

Leave a Reply

